WhatsApp introduces ‘disappearing messages’ that auto-delete after 7 days

WhatsApp introduces ‘disappearing messages’ that auto-delete after 7 days

WhatsApp is introducing a new feature that will make messages disappear after seven days. The new feature is being introduced globally throughout November.

To make use of the feature, users have to enable it by tapping on a contact’s name.

According to the mobile messaging company, once enabled, new messages sent in the individual or group chat will disappear after seven days. The most recent selection controls all messages in the chat.

This setting won’t affect messages you previously sent or received in the chat. In an individual chat, either user can turn disappearing messages on or off. In a group chat, only group admins can turn disappearing messages on or off.

If a user creates a backup of the message before it disappears, then the message is saved in the backup storage. But these messages will be deleted when a user tries to restore them from a backup.

WhatsApp warns users only to use disappearing messages “with trusted individuals” and says it will be possible for users to forward or take screenshots before messages disappear.

Submit Article or Press Release for your company or project in our big online tech news segment and get featured for free!